Xinjiang (full name: Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region) is the provincial administrative region with the greatest land area in China. The total area of Xinjiang is 1/6 of Chinese land area, and the length of border line accounts for 1/4. Founded in 1955, this autonomous region, also the former Xinjiang Province established in 1884 (the Late Qing Dynasty), has the capital located in Urumqi. The most area of Xinjiang was firstly included in China’s territory since Han Dynasty. Along with the replacement of dynasties in Central China, Xinjiang was ruled by horde nationality and Central Plain nationality alternatively for a long time. In 1757, after Emperor Qianlong of Qing Dynasty again opened up the native land of Xinjiang, the land was named as Xinjiang, which meant “the native land returned to the country”. Xinjiang is the gathering region of many nationalities, originally including 13 nationalities with a long history such as Han, Uyghur, Kazakhstan, Hui, Kyrgyz, Mongolian, Xibe, Tajik, Uzbek, Manchu, Daur, Russia, and Tartar. Currently, there are also other 34 nationalities such as Dongxiang, Zhuang, Salar, Zang, Yi, Bouyei, and Korean. Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region is the well-known village of song and dance, village of melon and fruit, and state of gold and jade. Xinjiang is a region with vast territory and abundant resources, grand landscape, boundless desert, numerous historical sites, many nationalities, and strange folk customs. Many tourist attractions include Kanas Lake, Loulan Ancient City, and Tianchi.
Surrounding cities
2 People involved | Total 2comment
You can also enter the 255 words Captcha:
Geographic Position
Best Tourist Season
Distribution Center
Related tourist routes


Produced By 大汉网络 大汉版通发布系统